Farmville Facebook Fraud

A recent Facebook app aimed at Farmville players offers them $500 in Farm Cash. Those who have gotten addicted to the game are all excited, but there’s some bad news: seems that it’s just one in a long line of Facebook frauds.

There have been a few hints that this offer isn’t legitimate.

First, it states that only a limited number of people will get the $500 in Farm Cash, but I’ve gotten tons request (and I don’t even play Farmville, so just imagine how many I would get if I actually played). Seems like the limited number of offers would already be gone by now.

The second thing that makes me worry about this offer is that it asks permission to use access profile your information before giving you access to the free cash. If I’ve already signed up to play Farmville, then why would they ask me to give them this information again? Seems more likely that someone has created a hoax offer that uses the logo of this popular Facebook game to draw in unwitting victims who are eager to get more cash for their farms.

From the number of people who have left positive comments, it looks like this hoax is working too. The last time that I looked, 1,312 members had liked the offer. Many of them have even left joyous comments. Facebook members can check it out here.

I think that it’s best to use caution whenever you get an offer like this. Use some critical thinking techniques to help you determine whether the offer is legitimate.

For instance, some of my immediate thoughts were: why wasn’t this sent to me by Farmville? And why do I need to give this access to my information?

Personally, I’m just as suspicious of free money in the virtual world as free money in the real world.

At this point, I don’t know for certain that this is a big Facebook hoax, but it shows some of the tell-tale signs that always make me cautious.

My guess is that the Facebook gods will quickly decide that this is fake and nip it in the bud.

~ by facebookhoaxes on March 16, 2010.

One Response to “Farmville Facebook Fraud”

  1. very good review of the most popular game on facebook. also includes the review of the FarmVille Secrets by T. Dub.

Leave a Reply

 
