Confirmed

Just as I expected, the “password reset” Facebook hoax that I wrote about earlier today has been confirmed as a scam. Multiple sources have reported that McAfee and Sophos find malware in the attached file.

I’m hardly surprised that this has been revealed as a hoax.

What does surprise me a little, though, is that I didn’t recognize that the RAR (or EXE depending on which version of the email you got) was doctored to show a DOC icon.

I imagine that this bit of trickery got a few people to open the file. After all, internet users are usually more cautious of EXE and RAR files than DOCs. This just goes to show you that such a position doesn’t offer the safeguard that you might think it does.

I haven’t seen any news as of yet suggesting what the malware does, but I wouldn’t suggest opening the file to find out.

~ by facebookhoaxes on March 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
