You Dear, Sweet Man

Advanced fee fraud, as it is often called, refers to a scam where someone, often using a false online identity, requests money from someone he or she has built a relationship with online. I don’t see a whole lot of these scams on Facebook these days. Although they’re not the hottest scam out there right now, they certainly exist. When they work, victims can lose hundreds or thousands of dollars.

Here’s a recent example found on Facebook. In this scenario, a nice English gentleman with very poor grammar explains why he’s interested in meeting people via Facebook. He has sent you an email because your profile “warmed his heart.” Unlike most dudes out there flipping through online pictures to identify hotties, he’s most interested in your personality. Here’s the text…

My name’s Wesley Dawson.
I just read through your profile and decided to write you.I’m a single dad of a lovely girl. I am an engineer and the nature of my job takes me places. Your profile warmed my heart. You look so cute, decent and with …this beautiful picture of you, i don’t think i have the exact word to express myself at the moment .I am so interested in getting to know more about you. I signed into Face book in search of someone honest, caring, and understanding, have only been this site for a week and really don’t know how it works .I’m an English man and i live in England,i am here on a job which i will soon be done with,i am able to write to you who lives far from my home because distance can be countered by a good communication and i am ready to relocate for the right woman.
I really don’t believe that distance matters — one can be in the same room with another and have no connection while one can be on the other side of the planet and be close in heart, I believe we live in a “global” world and the entire world is “at our fingertips.” So, I don’t see geography as inhibiting relationships, but enabling them…

Till i hear from you.
Wesley Dawson.

Well, that doesn’t seem so bad, does it? I mean, maybe a bit creepy. Absolutely desperate and naive. But nice enough.

Until someone falls for this blokes ploy. Then he spends a few weeks getting to know you. He’s so interested in your life. No man has ever asked you so many questions and been so interested in who you are. And then he asks you for a few hundred bucks because his daughter has gotten sick or he wants to come visit you.

Who would fall for this? There are a lot of lonely people in the world. Some of those people happen to have a few thousand dollars sitting in their savings accounts. The combination of loneliness and money equals victim.

As a general rule in life, don’t lend money to people, especially people you meet online who probably don’t even exist in the first place.

~ by facebookhoaxes on October 25, 2010.

3 Responses to “You Dear, Sweet Man”

  1. Hello,
    I received the exact same message on my facebook account a couple days ago. Some people really do not hesitate to do anything to get money.

  2. The same message was used on Match.com. Beware.

  3. I can tell you that Wesley Dawson, Nicholai Morgan, Nicholai Moore Morgan and Donald Cook is the very same person. I guess his real name is Charles Agyei Bediako and lives in Ghana.
    Whatch out for this scammer.

Leave a Reply

 
