Update: Did Charlie Sheen Do Me In?

Earlier this month, I sheepishly confessed to falling victim to one of the many Charlie Sheen hoaxes that have poured through Facebook. Honestly, I never did find out which specific virus I had. It seems, though, that I have effectively prevented it from causing any harm to my computer.

When I noticed that my computer was performing at a tenth of its usual speed, I used my antivirus software to see if I could find  anything. The program that I was using didn’t spot anything amiss. I knew that there was more to the story, though, so I tried using several other pieces of software to ease my mind.

It didn’t take long before I had tracked down the virus and kicked it off my hard drive. It must have been a pretty new virus, because I had to go through four different programs before I found one that could actually help me. Ultimately, My Clean PC saved the day. Their staff must really be on top of updating the software.

Just because a piece of antivirus software claims to have done the job, however, doesn’t mean that I totally believe it. I’ve owned a computer for far too long to simply believe something that a program tells me.

This morning, I ran several pieces of software again to make sure nothing else had crept onto my computer. All of the software that I used, other than My Clean PC, was freeware, so I didn’t have to spend any money to do this. What I found made me very happy. My Clean PC seems to have found all of the Charlie Sheen virus files. In fact, this morning, it found a completely unrelated file that none of the other programs identified.

I’m going to start using this software daily to keep my computer safe from all of the Facebook scammers out there.

~ by facebookhoaxes on March 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
