Google + Scam on Facebook

When something gets popular, you know that it will attract the attention of scammer. Google + isn’t any different.

In what many see as an odd move for a social networking site, Google + only allows members by invitation. It even restricts the number of people that can get on at a time. This has led to some frustration among Facebook users that want to check out the new service.

That frustration is like blood in the water for spammers. And they attack quickly.

One post that I saw recently on Facebook said: Remember ! Invite your friend with app for recive a invite !

Unless your friend doesn’t have a terrific grasp of the English language, that invitation will probably sound a little off to you.

If, however, you fall for the scam and you click the link, then an app will ask for access to your personal information. That means information about who you are, where you live, what you enjoy doing, what movies you like to watch, who your friends are… The list goes on and on.

And the rogue app will use this information to its advantage by scamming the hell out of your friends. When you agree to the app’s conditions, you also give it permission to post on your wall. That makes it really easy for spammers to attract more people to their hoax. It doesn’t take long before they have hundreds, then thousands of people falling for their little trick.

Don’t let yourself become their victim. Avoid these scams and sign up for Google + like a normal person. It’s the only way to get in.

Advertisements

~ by facebookhoaxes on July 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: